Featured New Releases:

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes – Here 

There are few more fitting uses of the word, “anomaly” than to describe Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes. Thanks in large part to a charming video of a father and daughter performing the less-than-obvious smash single, “Home,” this band of misfits was propelled into the spotlight. Their reflection was much different than that of the band themselves, who largely appeals to a niche, but was embraced by the masses. This much shorter sophomore effort has the potential to let a few more ears in with it’s easy summer vibe, but their signature 12-person hootin’ and hollerin’ may lend itself more to the core fans who have been on the Sharpe train a while.

If You Like: Mumford & Sons, The Flaming Lips, The Doors
Recommended Track: “That’s What’s Up”

Rebecca Ferguson – Heaven 

With a new singing competition starting seemingly every week, it’s hard to keep track of who comes from where and why we should care, but some voices stand out from the masses. Rebecca Ferguson is one such voice, who, despite coming in second place on the UK version of The X Factor to Matt Cardle, snagged a record deal with Simon Cowell’s Syco Music thanks to her show stopping performances during the broadcast.  Having already released overseas, Ferguson has arrived stateside, ready to prove what Cowell saw in her, teaming up with producers who turned the knobs for songstresses like Adele and Duffy – a genre comparison that she should slide easily into and hopefully the same goes for notoriety, too.

If You Like: Cher Lloyd, Amy Winehouse, Leona Lewis
Recommended Track: “Mr. Bright Eyes”

Other Featured Titles Available This [Week 5/29/12]

Scissor Sisters – Magic Hour 
Soundtrack – Snow White & The Huntsman
12 Stones -Beneath the Scars
Travis Porter – From Day 1
The Walkmen – Heaven
Ladyhawke – Anxiety
Julia Stone – By the Horns
For Today - Immortal
David Benoit – Conversation
Melody Gardot – The Absence
Joshua Hyslop – Where the Mountain Meets the Valley


Coming Up Next Week [6/5/12]:

The Beach Boys – That’s Why God Made the Radio
Alan Jackson – Talk is Cheap
The Temper Trap – The Temper Trap
Brandi Carlile – Bear Creek
The Hives – Lex Hives
Neil Young & Crazy Horse – Americana
Patti Smith – Banga
Various Artists – Rock of Ages: Original Movie Soundtrack
Owl City – Shooting Star EP
Paul Simon – Graceland 25th Anniversary Edition
Maroon 5 – Songs About Jane: 10th Anniversary Edition
Rhett Miller – The Dreamer
Lenny Kravitz – Mama Said (Deluxe Edition)
Big K.R.I.T. – Live From the Underground
River City Extension – Don’t Let the Sun Go Down On Your Anger
Japandroids – Celebration Rock
Curren$y  – The Stoned Immaculate
Crocodiles - Endless Flowers
Zac Brown Band – The Wind

You must be logged in to post a comment.