Our latest record label retrospective channel takes us to the Pacific Northwest to shine the spotlight on Kill Rock Stars. Find it now in the premium channels section of the Music Unlimited service.

Kill Rock Stars was founded in 1991 in Olympia, WA, eventually setting up shop in one of the hipster capitals of the world, Portland, OR. With its roots deep in discovering indie superstars like Elliott Smith, Sleater-kinney and The Decemberists, the label continues to release great albums from a variety of artists, including Horse Feathers, The Thermals and Thao & Mirah.

Get a sneak peek of the first 15 tracks below with many more included in the channel. We’ll be talking more about the history and artists of Kill Rock Stars this week, so stay tuned!

Kill Rock Stars Premium Channel Preview:

1) The Decemberists – “16 Military Wives”

2) Elliott Smith – “Needle in the Hay”

3) Sleater-kinney – “Dance Song ‘97”

4) The Thermals – “Never Listen to Me”

5) Gossip – “Jealous Girls”

6) Harvey Danger – “Cream and Bastards Rise”

7) Thao & Mirah – “Teeth”

8) Xiu Xiu – “I Luv the Valley OH!”

9) Horse Feathers – “Fit Against the Country”

10) Hella – “Biblical Violence”

11) Deerhoof – “Holy Night Fever”

12) Unwound – “Repetition”

13) Thao – “Bag of Hammers”

14) Comet Gain – “Why I Try To Look So Bad.”

15) Marnie Stern – “The Things You Notice”

You must be logged in to post a comment.